A journey begins…..

At heart I feel like I am meant to write. Writing helps me express myself and I think I can use my ability to help others express themselves. I have always been told I am a good listener. With listening comes interpreting. And that is what I want to do On this blog. My goal is to interpret what I see in this world and give my take on it.  It will most surely help me and I hope it will help others. 

For my first post I want to give some background on the title of the blog, Brian the Wanderer. I wanted just the Wanderer but it was taken so I had to include my name. The Wanderer stems from my favorite band Of A Revolution also known as O.A.R.  (no mom it is not oar as in a boat paddle). OAR has always been an important part of my life. I immediately had a connection with their music from the first time I heard them in 1998 back in college. 

Throughout their songs OAR tells a story of a man known as the wanderer. Several songs continue his story in all of their CDs and it was from here I took my idea of the wanderer. 

As you will learn in this blog music is a huge part of my life. It can change your mood, bring back memories and help you heal. Without music I am not sure what I would do. It is an expressive form and I am  grateful for those talented enough to share and create it with me and billions of others. 

As meNtioned earlier I always felt a connection with OAR and their Wanderer character. I have had many ups and downs in my life. Been blessed with a great family and group of friends. I have had the opportunity to experience some once in a lifetime moments, which I will talk about later, and made some mistakes I don’t want to remember. Throughout all of this I have been searching. Searching for what I really want in life. 

I have found over the last year I have found what is truly important to me. After years of living out of town and away from my family I moved back home to be with them. That part of me that was missing for six years had been filled. Still I am searching. I am in a job right now that I took to simply pay the bills. I am searching for my true purpose. I am also searching for more in life. Despite having great support from my family and friends I still feel alone at times. Hence my connection once again to the Wanderer character. 

But I think that the Wanderer is an example for all of us. We should all be searching, looking for what is important to us and someway to improve. Never settle, dream big and stay true to your heart. You know all of those cliche sayings. Haha. I will close with a few lines from the Wanderer by OAR. 

“He’s the wanderer looking for his long lost home. He’s only got one place to go. He’s wandering and wondering when to go home. He’s not alone, not alone, not alone” 

I have returned home to my wonderful family and true friends. I know I am not alone. And I am looking forward to continuing this journey I am on. 

One thought on “A journey begins…..

Leave a Reply

